In June of 1944, Ray and Grace Ferguson founded Ferguson Construction Company. The company was opened in Artesia, New Mexico. Originally, the company was known as Ferguson Welding Service since that was the only service offered. Mr. Wade Shipley joined the company in 1946. In 1948, Mr. Ferguson decided to move the company to Eunice, New Mexico due to the increase in oil and gas production in the Lea County area. The Artesia office was closed one year later. In 1954, Ferguson Construction Company opened an additional office and yard in Lovington, New Mexico.
Mark Wieser joined the company in 1975. Mr. Ferguson retired right around this time and the Eunice office and yard closed shortly thereafter. In 1986, Ferguson Construction Company was sold to a holding company out of Dallas, Texas. Mr. Wieser purchased the company in 1992. Since 1992, Mr. Wieser has owned and operated Ferguson Construction Company.
Job experience and longtime employees run deep at Ferguson. Employees that have shared their lives with Ferguson for 50 years exude dedication and consistency. Family tradition with many generations working side by side all contribute to the company that Ferguson is today. The Wieser family operates Ferguson with pride and commitment. Their commitment is to their employees, their clients, the community, and the environment. Traditions, generations, excellence, and safety are all words that are frequently associated with Ferguson Construction Company.